New Years Resolutions

I don’t know about you but every year I like to think of a new years resolution. Whether or not I keep it up is a different story. I believe there is something to be said for resolutions and wanting to improve an area of your life. Wanting and doing are two different words, while both are good only the second one will reap results. So this year I’m doing something way different, I’m making my goals public. I need you to come back regularly to see how I’m doing and to keep me in check with my goals. In return I’ll be here for you too. Cheering you on and together we are going to do amazing things.

I’ve read a blog called Less Cake More Frosting here and there for a while now. At new years instead of resolutions she makes a word for the year. I already knew what my goals looked like but once I wrote them down I saw that I could sum it all up in a word. So for 2016 my theme this year is: CONQUER

IMG_3602

Boom! Deep right? Alright let me explain. The word conquer is a verb meaning to overcome and take control by military force. While I’m not so sure about military force I really like the idea of overcoming and taking control and to do so with the focus and determination of a military sounds awesome. Plus the word is a verb so action is required. So what exactly do I want to conquer?

Health and Weight

I have struggled with my weight for years (decades) and because of my excess fat I’ve had some health issues. For a small part of time I actually had to take high blood pressure medicine, something someone in their twenties shouldn’t have to do. I got my butt in gear was able to get my blood pressure back into a normal zone. I have lots of family members that are diabetic and that is something I don’t want to deal with. Losing excess fat (weight) is not for vanity or beauty. I’m not looking to lose ten pounds because I have a small muffin top. I am wanting to lose some serious amount of weight (130 pounds) so that I know I can prevent most health issues.

Doubts, Fears, Comfort Zone

I have lots of personal doubts about myself. I’ve struggled for so long at finding and maintaining a decent job that I’ve become to doubt my skills and abilities. One of my reasons for pushing back starting this blog is because I’ve gotten so use to failing that I was actually afraid of what success might be. That’s crazy. I know it. You know it. So why have I let it continue? I have to conquer my comfort zone and break out. I can’t hide in my room and expect life to change for me. I have to be the one to change it or at the very least be out there so I am available for the change.

Goals

Setting up goals is great but making plans to conquer those goals is the only way they actually get achieved. I have to see results, I have to push myself. Even if the whole goal isn’t achieved if I can see improvement I’ll take it. For example I would like to loose 80 pounds this year, if December rolls around and I’m at 50 pounds lost that is still a major win.

New Sports/ Activities

I am not a traditional fan of sports. I suck at aim so anything that involves aim or balls is just not in the cards for me. Outside of being a mild fan for the Carolina Panthers (#KeepPounding) I just don’t enjoy traditional sports, playing or watching. So for me this year I want to learn and achieve how to do three new sports/activities: Mountain Biking, Kayaking, and Stand Up Paddle boarding (SUP). Jeremy got hooked on mountain biking in 2015 and it has made me jealous every times he goes for a ride. I’m hopping to get a bike soon so I can join him on the trails. As far as kayaking and SUP goes this summer my goal is to be on or in the water as much as possible. I want tone arms from kayaking and some great core and leg strength from SUP. Plus being in the sun all day will give me a great tan which is hard to do because I burn so quickly and give me some vitamin D.

2016 is going to be the year that I conquer my resolutions. What are you going to do this year?

