Purple Rain

I am one of those woman is low maintenance. Like super low… Almost no maintenance. I have make up but I hardly wear it. I put curly cream in my hair then go 3 days without washing it. I haven’t blow dried my hair on a regular basis since 2008. Part of the reason is just how I’ve always been. It dawned on me the other day that at 30 I still wear the same thing I wore at 15. Jeans, t-shirt, hoodie and tennis shoes. The clothes themselves have changed but the over all look has remained the same. I don’t mind it. That’s part of my personality. I own that. But another part of me just hasn’t taken care of myself. From 2013-2015 I had a low period in my life. I won’t go into detail but a lot of bad things happen  in my life that just kept building on and on. That’s one of the main reasons I gained so much weight. I stopped moving and I stopped taking care of myself.

Fast forward to now. I’m taking care of myself again. I’m drinking my water, exercising and even bought make up for the first time in a year. Not because I feel like I have to but because I want to. One thing that I’ve been wanting to do is dye my hair purple. It’s been in the back of my mind for the longest but I worked some where that didn’t allow it. Then I got a new job that could care less what my hair color was. I’m cheap and chicken but I finally made the jump and gave my self a little makeover.

So last week I went to the Aveda school and had the lovely Baylee cut 3 inches off my hair and dye it. This was something I wanted to do for me. I can finally manage the cost of upkeep plus I feel confident being able to carry off the color. I didn’t want it to look like OMG her hair is purple. But I did want it to be noticeable. I thought I would share some before and after pictures of my new bold hair color.

Before and after, its not so obvious in this picture that she cut length off since she straighten my hair but trust me it’s shorter.

img_0651

They have a teacher that looks over their work but she also gives the job a fun name. So I’m Purple Rain/Big Chop. I sent the photo to a friend while I was waiting on the dye to set in and she was freaking out about the big chop wondering how short would I go.

Again its not super obvious except when I’m in the sun light. Then I have a pink/purple halo surrounding me. I think the color will fade into a black cherry kind of look which is still cool with me. I like how the different purples highlight my curls.

